Notes on Frailty

In an intriguing live composition of music and movement, Notes on Frailty investigates the complexities of womanliness.

Saturday December 15th
18:30 – 19:30
Kassinn, National Theatre, Lindargata 7

Four dancers move between the sublime and the habitual in a choreographic exploration of the fine line between human beauty and failure. The women share inner conflict and friction, but also a longing to transcend existential solitude. Fluctuating between pure presence and dynamic expansion, they get entangled in each other’s inclinations and break free in solos. Composer Christian Wallumrød performs new electronic and acoustic music on stage, with the company’s signature affinity for the subtle relationship between music and dance.

Physical fragments, sampled from a 1950s iconography, are displaced and fall back to the body’s everyday intricacy, with literary reference to French philosopher Simone de Beauvoir’s The Second Sex. The choreographer’s language of movement ambiguously draws attention to the bodily construction of the “feminine”, in tune with Beauvoir’s situation-based understanding of gender, beyond the dualities between biology and culture. The dancers move in time and space with the precision and casualness of Ingun Bjørnsgaard’s compositional virtuosity.

Ingun Bjørnsgaard Prosjekt has a public performance of Notes on Frailty, Sunday, December 16th at 19.30. Buy tickets here.

Choreographer / Company

Ingun Bjørnsgaard Prosjekt was founded in Oslo in 1992 by Ingun Bjørnsgaard, a choreographer whose work continues to influence the Nordic dance scene. Since the company’s debut and immediate international breakthrough, Ingun Bjørnsgaard Prosjekt has carved out a space for Norwegian companies internationally and keeps touring the world.

Ingun Bjørnsgaard has transformed modern and contemporary dance traditions into an idiosyncratic language of her own. In a refined sense of compositional sensuality and ambiguous theatricality, the fine line between human splendour and failure is at stake. Writing movement in time and space, Bjørnsgaard uncompromisingly explores the art of dance in devoted collaboration with the company’s dancers, who generously employ their personalities and life experience in the development of the work.


Title: Notes on Frailty
Company: Ingun Bjørnsgaard Prosjekt
Choreographer: Ingun Bjørnsgaard
Composer and musician: Christian Wallumrød
Music: Yoko Ono – «What a Bastard The World Is» / © Ono Music/Universal Music Publishing AB,
György Ligeti – «Ramifications» / © Schott Music GmbH & Co KG/Gehrmans Musikförlag AB
Dancers: Catharina Vehre Gresslien, Marianne Haugli, Guro Nagelshus Schia, Katja Henriksen Schia
(original cast: Ida Wigdel)
Set and costume design: Thomas Björk
Light Design: Tilo Hahn
Sound Design: Morten Pettersen
Dramaturgy advisor: Torunn Liven
Seam: Signe Vasshus
Producers: Eva Grainger, Jorunn Kjersem Hildre, Anne Cecilie Bodin Larsen
Produced by Ingun Bjørnsgaard Prosjekt
Photo: Erik Berg, Tale Hendnes/Dansens Hus, Oslo
Trailer: Tale Hendnes/Dansens Hus, Oslo
Music Clearance: Hacate Entertainment Group
Funding: The Norwegian Arts Council, The Norwegian Composers’ fund
Co-produced by: CODA International Dance Festival 2017, Bærum Kulturhus – Regional Resource
center for dance
Partner: Compagnie 29×27, SEPT CENT QUATRE VINGT TROIS, Dansens Hus, Oslo